made me a small mill need some advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pa.hunter

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
i made a small mill , max 18" wide , logs i will mill only be 12-13" wide biggest saws i have is are 262xp husky 24" bar will this work ok, and what will be best chain, full chisel , skip chisel , ripping chain ,i have never done this before , but i have cut tons of timber i run 40:1 in all my saws i will up oil a bit when i get to ripping thanks for info and help

i made a small mill , max 18" wide , logs i will mill only be 12-13" wide biggest saws i have is are 262xp husky 24" bar will this work ok, and what will be best chain, full chisel , skip chisel , ripping chain ,i have never done this before , but i have cut tons of timber i run 40:1 in all my saws i will up oil a bit when i get to ripping thanks for info and help

When I first started milling I was using a 60ish cc saw to mill 12" to 16" hardwoods and softwoods using a Granberg ripping chain. It worked real good for me until I got the urge for more power but never the less it worked. I also run 40:1 in all of my saws for cross cutting and ripping with zero problems so far. Best of luck to ya!:cheers:

I find modifyed ripping chain the best for milling.You can thin down every two cutters to 1/16" wide and sharpen them on a 30% angle which will help out a smaller saw alot.The thinner 30% angled cutters work like a knife to slice the wood,while the two 0% cutters behind them clear the wood out.Much easier on the saw and faster cutting. :) Hope this helps,Mark

thanks for info another dumb question