Most efficiant OWB

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Big86inthestixx

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am new to this section, normally in the chainsaw. But i have a question, who builds the most efficiant OWB. I am asking this because i have always had add on furnaces and every one i know with an OWB goes through twice as much wood as I do. I mean on average i burn 5-7 chord, depending on the winter, they burn 10-15 chord depending on the winter. Is there a certain OWB that will not increase my wood average?

look at what they do!!

I have look at what my OWB does. I heated for years with a small forced air wood furnace attached to the house, It burned a pickup load of wood every week (cut & dry). This supplimented the heat we got from our oil furnace to keep the house at 72 degrees. My winter heating use was around 400 gallons of furnace oil. Today with my Hardy H4 I burn a pickup load of wet wood mostly unsplit every week. It heats the whole house to 75 degrees and keeps my electric hotwater heater filled with hot water and I burn NO Furnace oil. It smokes and stinks when burning hard but I have no close neighbor to complain. I have it place 140 feet from the house behind other buildings and pointed so the prevailing wind takes the smoke away. If I had a close neighbor I would hook him up too. Not efficient but what a furnace.

The Hoosier