MS 310 Rebuild

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wood Chopper

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
First of all great site you guys have here. I just rebuilt a ms 310 for my dad that was getting tired with an aftermarket 390 kit from Northwood saw crank bearings, carb rebuild etc. The piston and rings were very difficult to install I thought. I am new to spinning wrenches on our chainsaws but have rebuilt many other 2 stroke engines mainly dirt bikes. The manual says use a spring compressor but the start of the actual cylinder is so far away from the clam shell mating surface that I am not sure how that would work. Is the cylinder taper supposed to squeeze the rings as I push it in. The saw pulls over hard so I am sure the rings are not seated right. It did fire up but then quit. So back apart she comes. The kit seemed to be made well. Has anybody else had this problem with this kit.

On a positive note I did the muffler mod to my 310 last week and couldn't be happier. Sounds a little meaner as well.

for starters I always use caber rings. as far as difficulty getting the piston and rings in the cylinder it can be tricky but if the bottom of the cylinder tapper is tapered right u just put the rings on the piston and the cylinder drops right on sometimes you have to lightly persued the rings with a small flat screwdriver.

for starters I always use caber rings. as far as difficulty getting the piston and rings in the cylinder it can be tricky but if the bottom of the cylinder tapper is tapered right u just put the rings on the piston and the cylinder drops right on sometimes you have to lightly persued the rings with a small flat screwdriver.