MS 361 down

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian VT

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
My b.i.l. said his Dad had a Stihl that blew up and the dealer said it was $500 to fix or he'd sell him a new one for $550 + trade. He left pissed off because he thought it might be warranteed. They told him bad gas but he says he's never had problems with other saws, etc., etc. You've heard similar stories. It's been sitting and kinda forgotten ever since.

Anyway, it turns out that my b.i.l. had the saw at his house sitting in a box.
It's an MS 361. It's not seized. It pulls over smoothly. The exhaust side of the piston is damaged (scored/melted?) and the rings are gone (into the lower end ?). The intake side of the cylinder looked okay from what I could see.

So...I was thinking I might should try to rebuild this thing for them ? I have no experience with saws but have done a few top ends on 2-stroke motorcycles. I'm kinda hoping you guys will tell me to get a piston and rings, flush the lower end with kerosene, clean up or hone the cylinder, and be a hero. Are these cylinders nikasil plated ? Do you think I'll need to split the lower end on this thing ? If so, I'll probably stay away.
Any advice appreciated, although I expect many "I'll give you $100 for it." replies. lol

Last edited:
Yes by all means go ahead and rebuild it. It'a very likely that you can save the cylinder with some acid cleanup, and a hone job, throw in a new piston and rings. Your good to go.