Murphy's Law: Who Is In Charge of Your Woodpile?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arbonaut

Go Climb It
Reaction score
Part of Murphy's Law states: Look unimportant, the enemy may be low on ammo.
I don't mind going out on a limb to take one for the team. Leaders are used to drawing fire. You don't expect others to go out and draw lines in the sand.
I graduated from the University of Illinois Extension Master Gardener Program twelve years ago. Disease was the fourth week, insects the fifth. You had some of this in school. If you don't have a strong background in this type of thing, don't come here to debate based on generalization. When you approach a master, be specific. If you have anything negative to say at this point, please feel free to start your own thread.
In the Disease Triangle four things are required. If one of these factors is missing, it is likely a disease will not occur. One is a susceptible host. In this thread, we will consider a primary source of firewood, the Ash Tree to be a susceptible host. Second you need a pathogen which is referred to as a causual agent because it causes the problem. We'll address the European Emerald Ash Borer Beetle as the primary causual agent-the pathogen in this example. Third, you need a favorable environment. This environment is your woods and mine, especially infected trees and wood on the forest floor combined with warm temperatures and moisture. And the fourth part of the equation is time.