my MS290 rebuild, help with port timing please

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcb

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Picture005.jpg

Picture006.jpg

Picture007.jpg

i bought it last week on craigs "freshly rebuilt" by joeshmo. 1 day of cutting later and it was down on power and i could hear a sucking noise at idle. 90psi compression test, tore it down, found this.

Picture111.jpg

Picture114.jpg

Picture118.jpg

i picked up a new piston and ring, honed the cylinder and started thinking more power couldnt hurt.

ive been doing heads for 4 or 5 years now
PA200079.jpg

problem is ive been studying these for the last decade and 2 strokes are so difficult for me to visualize.
4-Stroke-Engine.gif

so i sat down with a notebook and jug/rotating assembly today trying to figure out timing events in order to hop this saw up a bit. im hoping someone can critique my conclusions because im not sure how much 4 stroke behavior will carry over.

my understanding is:

1. lowering intake floor or cutting skirt will both retard intake closing and advance intake open.

2. raising the exhaust roof or trimming the piston crown edge will advance the exhaust opening and extend total duration.

3. raising transfer ports or cutting piston crown edge advances "intake" timing on the downstroke, but also retards it on the upstroke.

4. BDC occurs when piston is level with exhaust floor height. lowering exhaust floor shouldnt really effect much besides port area?

with 4 strokes, the primary component to placing the powerband where you want it is intake valve closing period. close early (advance) and you get lowend, close later (retard) and you get top end.