Need help choosing bar and chain for 365 special BB

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UpOnTheHill

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
In the process of buying the 365 special with big bore top end in the tradin post (76cc). Been doing a lot of reading on chain types, brands, etc and having trouble deciding what I want to go with. This saw will be used for cutting firewood period. I cut about 20 to 25 face cord a year. I do fell some trees that are dying and some trees are wind blown, already down, etc. I've been using my husky 350 for about 10 years now but it's time for something bigger as I've been getting into some bigger trees, the biggest about 24 to 30 inches. Most are in the 12 to 20 inch range though. The 350 wears an 18 inch b&c but will downsize to 16 and be used for limbing and tight work if this 365 works out. Mostly hardwood around here - maple, oak, ash. Most of my cutting is pretty clean and I'm very careful with my chains. I touch them up every 1 to 2 tank fulls of fuel. I don't hit many rocks, nails, dirt. I want to decide between a 20 or 24 inch bar and I was thinking a full comp semi chisel chain. I'd like a balance between the fastest cut I can get with the least amount of sharpening. I'd like the saw to be balanced well also so any input from 365/372 users and what size and brand bars they are using would be helpful. Thanks for all your help, this forum has been fantastic! My wife thinks I have a chainsaw problem though because I read on here every night. I find chainsaws interesting and have since I was a young boy. I used to look forward to reading chainsaw ads when the newspaper would come. I fondly remember always looking for the mcculloch eager beaver ad. I've wanted to own one ever since for some reason. Enough carryin' on, send me your thoughts.
Regards