Need Help justifying an ethical dilemma

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chad556

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
So as some of you may know I work on a golf course, I grow grass spring summer and fall and work on trees in the winter. I am a certified arborist but my degree is in turf management.

Today my boss gave me the number of one of our clubs board members who mentioned he wanted some trees removed. I thought great, if i do a good job and make him happy he will have the whole filthy rich membership calling me asking for tree work. Great sidejob opportunity.

Go to the guys house today and we go look at his trees. He leads me into his Mansion, yes mansion 20' ceilings, grand piano, couple Mercedes in the driveway. He points out his rear bay window at his backyard to "two dark green ones"(norway maples) "see how they block the view? they need to be topped"
"Well topping wouldnt be very beneficial in the long run to the trees health and vigor, maybe a crown reduction or vista pruning would be more..."

"Naw, just top em', just take your chainsaw and chop off the top 20' or so" (the tree cant be taller than 40')

"If you are going to go that far you should consider removing them completly maybe, and possibly replacing them with something that doesn't grow that tall?"

"Oh no, people around here would get upset to see trees getting cut down, I don't care but I just don't want to deal with it, just top them, that will be fine."

Uggh, how am I supposed to argue with this guy he is literally my boss's boss. He was the one of the ones who hired my boss. Anyways, time to go outside and look at the things first hand.