New Chain - what file?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rick_uk

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi i'm new to using chainsaws and sharpening angles and basiclaly anything to do with the chainsaw.

I put on a new sthil chain the other day but only have 1 file, i'm not really sure if I can use the same file and file guide with my new stihl chain? I have a husky 357 but when i got the saw the spare chain they gave me was a sthil.

How do I find out exactly what file size and angle I need? Someone said check the box but I don't understand the chart, theres numbers and figures all over it. Any ideas?

Hi i'm new to using chainsaws and sharpening angles and basiclaly anything to do with the chainsaw.

I put on a new sthil chain the other day but only have 1 file, i'm not really sure if I can use the same file and file guide with my new stihl chain? I have a husky 357 but when i got the saw the spare chain they gave me was a sthil.

How do I find out exactly what file size and angle I need? Someone said check the box but I don't understand the chart, theres numbers and figures all over it. Any ideas?
If it is standard 3/8 chain 13/64 , 404 chain 7/32 , 3/8 low pro 5/32 , how many cc's is your saw , what size chain is the stihl chain . Cheer's MM

Go to this link and it will identify your Stihl chain.

http://www.stihlusa.com/chainsaws/identify.html

On the 3/8 Stihl would like you to use 13/16 instead of the 7/32 because it won't cut into the tie straps (that's what they say) as much when you get way back on the tooth.

1/4 inch = 5/32 file
3/8 picco narrow = 5/32 file
3/8 picco = 5/32 file
.325 = 3/16 file
3/8 - 7/32 or 13/64th file
.404 - 7/32 file

:cheers: