new guy

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tonymcgrath

Reaction score
hi all ime the new guy tony iam from ireland. and i am an artist sculptor. i would like to try my hand at chainsaw carving i have a bosh electric chainsaw for bloching out i will finish with an anglegrinder with chistle attachment thank you for having me on this forum tony

i have not dune alot of work for a long time the wood sculptors i have dun in the past ar very small mostly worked in local stone . i have aquired 4 logs of douglas fir and 1 large log of willow i dont know if they ar any good for carving i have never tried anything this size before 20in across and 4 ft high i dont have a carving saw no cash. one question i wont be.able to finish a piece in one go is there any thing i have to du to the half finished piece. like sealing it to stop it cracking before i return to finish it or will it be ok hope you can help thank you tony

i have not dune alot of work for a long time the wood sculptors i have dun in the past ar very small mostly worked in local stone . i have aquired 4 logs of douglas fir and 1 large log of willow i dont know if they ar any good for carving i have never tried anything this size before 20in across and 4 ft high i dont have a carving saw no cash. one question i wont be.able to finish a piece in one go is there any thing i have to du to the half finished piece. like sealing it to stop it cracking before i return to finish it or will it be ok hope you can help thank you tony

Many things to consider. Wood Species, Green or Cured, Temperature and Humidity level, will it be stored indoors or outside between carving sessions, etc.