New to heating with wood.... now for my saw..?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vcsnover

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am new to this heating with wood exclusively life. I did it when I was a kid and teenager, but I am pushing 40 now and have not done it since. I have a new Poulan 42cc saw with a 20 in bar that I got at Sears, they have the same at Lowes, paid about 200 bucks for it. Any thoughts? I know it is a cheap saw but do you think it will hold up? Hold the snickers as much as you can and give me some solid advice. I could probably go about 300 to 350 on a saw but not much more considering my wallet right now. So, there it is, let me have it!
Oh, this is a really cool site, everyone seems super cool. Thanks.
Victor

Your Poulan might last for a season or two of steady cutting. I would look for a bit better saw, like a Husky 359 or a 570 if you get into bigger stuff. Also look at used saws, you can usually get a decent Stihl 026 or 031 for about $200. Most of the saws I use a lot are over 30 years old, the older ones seem to hold up better and take abuse better.

I agree, if you are going to heat exclusively with wood, you will probably need a better saw. I started with an MS310, but you might as well just find a way to get more money and buy a big saw now, youre gonna want to do it later!

MS660!!!

Good luck on your endeavor, I am somewhat of a newby myself. Im going into my third winter on wood only. It will probably end up devouring your life and before you know it you'll be thinking about chainsaws nonstop.

I bought my 575XP, ran maybe 4 tanks through it so far cutting big stuff, and now I do all my cutting with a beat-up $10 Homelite SXL-AO.

I bought my 575XP, ran maybe 4 tanks through it so far cutting big stuff, and now I do all my cutting with a beat-up $10 Homelite SXL-AO.