Newb, General milling questions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bonnieville

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Milling novice here.
I might have access to a White Oak tree about 24"-30" diameter and about 30' long. It is in the woods on a steep hill off a road near me. If I can get logs down from there and home in usable lengths, I'd like to, with the help of a friend of mine, who owns an Alaskan Mill, make new decking boards for my 7'x9' Flatbed. The final product would have to be 1-1/2" x 8" at just under 9' long. I am looking for information on how to mill these logs to get the best boards out of them for this application. I will probably leave them rough sawn as this is a work truck.
Cutting slabs and then ripping them to size seems easiest, but is there a better plan to get better boards out of the log?
I realize that there is probably no short answer here. Maybe somebody could direct me to a site that I can read so that I will at least know enough to ask more intelligent and easily answerable questions.
Thanks

Here's shot of the tree. The picture doesn't really show the steepness of the hill or the drop off to the road.
maidenlaneoak.jpg

If you can get permission, cut it right where it is and carry the boards out. But keep in mind its gonna be a lot of work for something you can buy pretty cheap. Oak boards good enough to deck your trailer won't cost that much. The tree looks pretty nice and I'd cut it for some other purpose.