OAK, easier to split green or seasoned ?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

preventec47

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I just brought home a couple truckloads of oak rounds up to 18 in in diameter. I do not have a functioning
splitter other than a maul, sledge and wedges and axe. On a green round about 15inches in in diameter, It took about eight good swings with an 8 pound maul to get it to split. ( three or four hits in the same groove ) I have been splitting wood for many decades and never came to any conclusions about this.
What are your opinions ? Since I am going to split at an old age manually, it is more important now.

I split mostly green, we hit the weather cracks & jackpot!
The biggest I have split was 48 inches, it was on the swamp road to the river & storm knocked it over on a pasture fence.
The land owner gave us 24 hours to harvest it & repair the fence. We worked from sun up till after dark moving the logs, 48" X 12", we rolled them up on the truck like tractor tires. It till a week to spilt all the wood, not counting the small limbs that where stacked up with out splitting.
But to answer your question, I would spilt it green, even if you needed a wedge.

I'd agree with the above, generally green, but I think it also depends on the oak..some species is harder to split then others..Got some oak that came down in a storm a year or two ago, never saw anything like it, my wedge would barely even go into the round..Let it season and it split much easier..

Well so far, one vote for green and one vote for seasoned.
Perhaps I could do a scientific test. I could take some long rounds
and cut them in half where each face would be indentical to the other.
I could split a few green ones now and record the effort ( how many swings )
and save the opposite face cut round a year and then cut them with same tool