Old Hydraulic Gear Pump

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NJ_Toolnut

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi All,

Since I've never ran a hydraulic log splitter and because I'm an absolute noob when it comes to hydraulics, please go easy on me (I learn fast)!

My neighbor gave me an old Commercial Shearing cast iron hydraulic gear pump from a dump truck. The only numbers on its data plate are 110356 and 2/86. The numbers GB1685 appear on the main casting. The inlet and outlet ports are located opposite each other. Inlet diameter appears to be 1.25" or so, outlet diameter is about 1" with 12 threads per inch. Splined shaft diameter is about 7/8", splines are ANSI 22-4/SAE B, 13 tooth, 16/32 diametrical pitch. The splined shaft sticks out from the 2-bolt mounting flange by about 1.25". Mounting bolt circle size is about 5.75". Is anyone familiar with these gear pumps or able to suggest a resource from which I can information about them? I'd like to know displacement per revolution, max RPM, direction of rotation and max pressure. Regarding a potential application, I'm exploring the possibility of using this pump to power a log splitter from my Ford 1910 Compact Tractor PTO. I have about 20 hp available at the 540 RPM PTO shaft. I know I will need a gearbox to obtain required pump RPM, but I have a milling machine and a lathe, as well as access to a welder. Since this is not a two stage hydraulic pump cycle times may be relatively slow, but on the other hand this seems like a fairly large pump with a relatively high flow rate for a splitter application. Getting it free was huge for me, since I could never justify paying the price of a commercial splitter.

Thanks in advance for your comments!

Stan