poor mans untrasonic cleaner

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

parrisw

Tree Freak
Reaction score
Here is a cheap way to make a parts cleaner. Not sure how well it works yet, I just stuck the clutch cover in there. Currently there is solvent in there. Strap a palm sander to the top of the bucket.

attachment.php

Hey, well, the jury is still out, I left it in there for about 30mins. I really don't know how long a ultrasonic cleaner usually takes. Although, it did loosen up some stuff, that I couldn't previously blow off, its now much cleaner. But I don't know if its just from soaking in solvent or the actual vibration.

Anybody know how long a untrasonic cleaner usually takes?

You are gonna ruin your sander. They are not meant to run long periods of time.

I am a woodworker and go through a LOT of sanders.

ultrasonic

ive got an ultrasonic cleaner. i use purple power mixed 50 50 with water in it. for real dirty parts like mufflers it sometimes takes 1 or 2 hours. also about the same for a cylinder with alot of carbon buildup. exaust port. piston top. ect.

Mine has 4 honking transducers and really cleans things up fast. 10 minutes is a long time in mine.

It pays to stock every now and then and pick away at small deposits of harded resin/oil - that stuff needs to be probed by hand..

Last edited:
:ices_rofl:

Heck, you can call this redneck engineering, but it's this kinda thinking that brought appollo 13 back to earth....or am I stretching the truth here :hmm3grin2orange: :hmm3grin2orange:

Last edited:

Yes, your right, thats why I only left it for 30 mins, surely they can run that long.

you might be a redneck it.......

HE HE HE HE HE HE, YUP!!!

I guess one day I will have to bite the bullet and get one.