poulan pro 20"?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bauman226

Reaction score
I'm a college student looking to buy a chainsaw and the poulan pro 20" caught my eye. It seems reasonably priced, consumers report gave it a decent review, but most importantly it is still made in the USA. I was just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on it, or suggestions for a saw that is decently priced but will still perform well...I don't want to waste my money on something that is only going to pain to use/ maintain..I need money for books haha

Last edited:
not knowing what your going to use it for makes it hard to determine,but your probably better off to find a secondhand jonsered,husky,stilh for the same price.the made in usa saw isn't such a good thing anymore.

not knowing what your going to use it for makes it hard to determine,but your probably better off to find a secondhand jonsered,husky,stilh for the same price.the made in usa saw isn't such a good thing anymore.

That, and what is the going price for the saw you are looking at? I know, I know, but I am still a firm believer in the Husky 350, if the price is comparable, there is no reason not to buy the 350 IMO!!!

Welcome to the site.

As a general rule I would avoid Poulan (Homelite, McCulloch, Craftsman, etc.) outdoor power equipment at all costs. They are throwaway brands without any reasonable degree of dealer support for parts, service, etc. Consumers Reports does not really take into consideration the sorts of factors that truly make a difference - long-term reliability, ease of service, availability of dealers for parts and service. I appreciate what they have to say when it comes to the ability of a vacuum cleaner to suck crap out of my rugs, but they don't know a darned thing about most forms of outdoor power equipment.