question about my father

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

badcars2

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
giving dad a couple of cherry logs to play with in his wood shop. I took down this tree last spring at the request of the owner.
questions i have:
my uncle, who live close to him has a sawmill (bandsaw type), wellanyhow the logs i will be bringing are between 20, and 16 inches. is eight foot a good working length , or do you think i need to shorten them out in the field before delivery?
and if they have to be stored, is ther any way to avoid the usting of the log, i mean this tree is destroying itself, for any period of time?
to be honest, this is dads thing. he is really down in his back, and i will do most anything to put a smile on his face. i know nothing at all about wood worhttp://lumberjocks.com/jocks/juniorjockking, i am a metal fabricator by trade, so if these questions are supid, i am sorry.
he eveb has a link to a site , this is his stuff and his dogs, sorry, i just thought it was neathttp://lumberjocks.com/jocks/juniorjock
ill get back to my screaming saw forum, and probably check out the firewood forum .
thanks for listening to another ramble
later
badcars2
:givebeer: :chainsaw:

...my uncle, who live close to him has a sawmill (bandsaw type), wellanyhow the logs i will be bringing are between 20, and 16 inches. is eight foot a good working length , or do you think i need to shorten them out in the field before delivery?