Quote / Job Question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TreeFrog01

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am in the process of preparing a quote for a homeowner. I am new to the business as an Owner. I am removing two large branches off of the front porch of the house. One branch is suspended from the tree and needs to be secured prior to any work being done.

The HO says they called their insurance co- USAA. They were told that an adjuster would not be coming out and they should get estimates from a tree service and construction contractor. Both should prepare a statement of loss / damages. I always thought the statement of loss damages was prepared by the adjuster. Any comments on this item????

Second-
The HO believes the limbs were struck by lightning causing them to come down. I can not find anything to support this. They want me to include lightning as the cause of the limb breaks. My only though is the HO has a better deductable for the lightning as the cause than wind.

Any suggestions here would be appreciated. I want to start the job asap to assist the HO from sustaining any further damage. I will not compromise my integretiy for one job however. Anyway, should it matter what caused the damage? I am concerned if I do the job, the HO and Insurance co. have a dispute and I dont get paid. I usually ask for payment at completion... this job has me a little concerned.

Thanks for any help,
Jason