quoting formula

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Let me start by saying I have been operating for several years in a role where this was 99% of my focus.

In my experience there is no way a fixed formula is going to deliver consistent results, there are many factors involved, the first being able to read the client. Are they tyre kickers? only care about the cheapest price ? Are they educated and know the difference and want a quality service/product delivered?

The second is inescapable, you must have extensive practical experience in the task you are attempting to estimate, you need to be able to anticipate likley outcomes, potential problems and methods that will or should be employed to complete the task at hand and allow for each of those variables, you then need to have an intimate understanding of your staffs operational capacity and allow for that also, for example crew B. might be able to do the job in 3 hours while crew A. might do it in 4.5 hrs.

The third is a working knowledge of baseline figures for your company, ie. what does it cost us to have the required staff and equipment on site for the duration of the job and the time it will take to get there, you then must incorporate a margin of profit, while considering the risk involved in the task at hand, exposure to risk will always be reflected in the price, there are some other considerations depending on the size of the company, that being your (the estimator) costs (veichle, stationary, mobile, web,fuel and your wage) and admin at the office (who will likley spend a certian amount of time preparing the associated paperwork with logging the job, booking the job and sending invoices and any other company overheads (if you are successful).