Relying on Others

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

memetic

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Some of you who have been ever so helpful (thanks, truly), or just read my previous posts, know that I am not an arborist. I am an architect with a Master of Architecture degree from Yale and did a lot of studies in forestry and landscape design, ecology, and evolutionary theory (I am also a master farmer). That is how I got my start in this business. This has just happened recently as our economy has hit the chipper and not too much new construction and new landscape designs are sought after. We seem to be in a maintenance economy, at least here anyway.

I had too many clients wanting tree work done that I decided to add that service rather than see all that potential money go elsewhere. I got the proper insurance (as many have read about) and hired the proper crew and taken on a partner with years and years of experience to help with the tree work.

My question is where can I go and read good sources on what I need to know to catch up. I know that experience is key and that is what I am learning now on a day to day basis in the field, but I want more.

I have scoured this site and always look up terms and techniques that I come across, but if there are some online sources other than this site it would be great to know. So far I have just been kind of piecemealing it together. I did a lot of google searches and read as much as I could, but I never came across any kind of 101 for tree work. Maybe there are some books I can buy?