Replacing Husky 340.. used husky 55 offered, should I take it?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mweston34

Reaction score
New to the forum, so please be kind. I have been using a 340 for 8yrs as a homeowner. Found it to be a good solid saw, though it bogs down at times. I could pick up a barely ussed Husky 55, or buy new. I would prefer not to spend a lot of money as I may be tough on the saw as homeowners go, I am no pro. (10 acres of oak, madrone and pine to keep up).
1) Is the 55 a good saw for no more than $200?
2) Options under $400?
Thanks,
Mark:confused:

First off, welcome to Arborist Site!
For 400 bucks you could get a MS280. Many on here like the Husky 350, which is a solid saw and is a great contender. I just happen to like the engine management system on the 280 for homeowners. You will never have to adjust the high needle on your carb as it does that for you. The important thing is having a good dealer of the saw you purchase. If your dealer is too far away or is a donkey, it isn't worth it. Also check the trading post, you can usually find meaty saws there in the 400 buck range. Good luck, and of course you know you will have to post pics of the new saw to avoid severe punishment:cheers:

Working on a 55 now, nice saw

New to the forum, so please be kind. I have been using a 340 for 8yrs as a homeowner. Found it to be a good solid saw, though it bogs down at times. I could pick up a barely ussed Husky 55, or buy new. I would prefer not to spend a lot of money as I may be tough on the saw as homeowners go, I am no pro. (10 acres of oak, madrone and pine to keep up).
1) Is the 55 a good saw for no more than $200?
2) Options under $400?
Thanks,
Mark:confused:

Yes the 55 is a nice saw. For around $200 I would get it if it's got nice compression. I am working on one right now, and have completely rebuilt it with OEM parts for around $100.