Retirement fun or "foley"

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doug Varney

Reaction score
I am about to retire. I have been managing my 50 acres of hardwood for 35 years. I have developed a passion for woodworking and have assembled a woodshop. I want to use my wood for something other than burning in my furnace. The fellow who has been cutting a bit of my wood into boards is too old to continue doing this. I can get a 1950's era 40" Belsaw mill (actually almost two of them) without an engine for <> $2,400. Is this folly on my part? I have a compulsive do it myself nature. I enjoy the process of restoring older equipment but if it is clearly a stupid idea, I would rather hear that message early.

Thx,

I am about to retire. I have been managing my 50 acres of hardwood for 35 years. I have developed a passion for woodworking and have assembled a woodshop. I want to use my wood for something other than burning in my furnace. The fellow who has been cutting a bit of my wood into boards is too old to continue doing this. I can get a 1950's era 40" Belsaw mill (actually almost two of them) without an engine for <> $2,400. Is this folly on my part? I have a compulsive do it myself nature. I enjoy the process of restoring older equipment but if it is clearly a stupid idea, I would rather hear that message early.

Thx,

It's not stupid if it's what you want to do...

What will you do for engine??? To me, it sounds like this won't "end up" being a cheap deal...

I'd rather have a new bandmill than that Belsaw any day of the week... You can get a starter bandmill for $3,000.00 and for a bit more you can get a full size Norwood Lumbermate 2000. The LM2000 will saw more and better lumber out of a log, with less tinkering than that Belsaw will... And have a lot better resale if you get tired of it!

Rob

Thx,

Doug,