rototiller.....front or rear? and other things...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

U&A

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
some may remember a post i did regarding the location of my new garden. well i still haven't figured that out. only have about 2-3 weeks to get it done now :sweet:.

anyway, my dad used to use a rear tine tiller and loved it but it always looked like he was fighting it and he would never let me do it so i have no experience with one beside the little 2 stroke things. We will be starting with a smaller garden this year but it will keep growing for the next few years. we eventually want to be self sufficient on the veggi category for most of the year (3 people). ...back on track. you know the question...

which do you prefer, front or rear and why? ( I know, thats what she said:happybanana:...sorry could help it:dumb:)

what brands (no wars please) do you recommend for reliability and ease of repair/maintenance?

what horsepower do you recommend for what I am trying to achieve?

Thank you much for the help and suggestion. if there is anything else you need to know about my plans to help you help me let me know.

Size matters. Smaller plots a front tine in the 5hp range would be my choice. Large scale I use a rear tine. My Troy Built Horse has been dead reliable for over 20yrs but they are expensive. My front tine is an old belt drive Montgomery Ward but it's heavy and works well.