Shop wants to replace carburetor--is it necessary?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cutter44752

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
My saw is in the shop for a number of issues addressed in a different thread (mainly the oiler hole clogged leading to smoking of the chain).

They also said the carburetor needs to be replaced as it doesn't idle properly, the only thing I've noticed is that when I start it up it immediately revs all-out but I just pull the trigger and it goes back to a normal idle...I feel like they just want to do a $110 repair but I'm not technical enough to take the carburetor apart and clean it out myself I don't think (but they say it's a "safety issue"). Any thoughts?

It's referred to as high idle on start up. Normal. If you have the owners, it should explain when and why it does this.

If you need an owners manual, go online and download one from Echo website or a general search on google. I recommend from the maker of your saw first.

It is always best to clean the OEM carburetor and install new OEM parts in it vs replacing it. In all the years Iof working on carburetors (full time for over 20 years until retiring recently) I've only had to replace a very small percentage of them and that was only due to something breaking on them, may years of sitting with bad fuel in them, or heavy rust/oxidation from leaving them exposed to the elements for some reason.

I'm not sure eactly why but I see a LOT of folks ditching their OEM carburetors when they have issues with their small power equipment. Most buy cheap Chinese replacement carburetors as in most cases an original OEM carb is going to be as much as 3-4 times more costly. I've had ZERO luck here with any of that so always stick with OEM, which is what I'm recommending here.