sithl 660 or husky 395

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cornraker

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
im looking to add a saw that will be used primarily for bucking logs. have a firewood business and i get whole logs delivered to the site and i need a big saw that will be used for bucking mostly. i've looked at these two models and i have no experience with them. just want to know if anybody owns one and what they think

I've owned and sawed timber with 4 394's and 395's all were very reliable but heavy as a pig and look like a humpback whale!!!. The 5 066's i've owned were also cutten fools and light weight for their size.

I have a feeling that you just opened up a can of worms that's going to be more based on brand loyalty than which one is the better choice.
When it really comes down to it either one is a good choice. Each has it's weakness and strengths. Both will serve you well. Just chose the one with the best dealer support in your area.

I have a 395xp and an 066. I love both saws, but I would pick the 395xp over the 066. But this is a personal preference and both are good saws.

I have a feeling that you just opened up a can of worms that's going to be more based on brand loyalty than which one is the better choice.
When it really comes down to it either one is a good choice. Each has it's weakness and strengths. Both will serve you well. Just chose the one with the best dealer support in your area.

I have a 395xp and an 066. I love both saws, but I would pick the 395xp over the 066. But this is a personal preference and both are good saws.

:agree2:

I have never used either, and is far from sure which one I would pick if I needed a 90cc saw, as both obviously have their weaknesses - most agree that the 395 is smoother in the cut though, despite what someone said here - but then there is the weight and the outboard clutch........:givebeer: