Small saw advise

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

houser52

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello all. I've read a lot on this forum for the last few years and it has provided me with lots of good info.

I'm not a professional logger but I have been using chainsaws on our farm for over 40 years. Mostly cutting firewood, fence posts, fence clearing, etc. My current saw is a Husky 61 that still runs like new and has served me well. It's always cranked , run every time I needed it and saws great.

The older I get the heavier the Husky gets so I'm going to get a small saw (30cc-35cc) to trim limbs and saplings with. I've narrowed it down to the Echo cs-310 and the Stihl ms170. I don't want or need anything bigger.

There a lots of reviews on those saws but most reviews are either 5+ years old or the saws have been modded and not truly stock. I will be buying one of those two saws from an authorized dealer and will remain stock as not to void the warranty.

With the two saws that I've mentioned, which one would you recommend and why?

Saw design and reliability change somewhat over time and I would like some current opinions.

Thanks

I hate to say this but, I would go the Echo cause of the silly and irritating flippy caps on the Stihl.

I have run Stilh for decades and that lil invention has soured me on an otherwise great saw and brand. If can tolerate the flippy's then I would go Stilh.

Annnnd....

Welcome to Arboristsite!!! The big show, we'll get you most anything if you can find your way through the some times deep BS ...

I hate to say this but, I would go the Echo cause of the silly and irritating flippy caps on the Stihl.

I have run Stilh for decades and that lil invention has soured me on an otherwise great saw and brand. If can tolerate the flippy's then I would go Stilh.