Spilled oil on concrete... what removes it?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daddy M Dawg

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I spilled some Stihl bar and chain oil on my driveway. Any ideas on what will remove the darker area on the concrete so it'll match the rest of it again.

I spilled some Stihl bar and chain oil on my driveway. Any ideas on what will remove the darker area on the concrete so it'll match the rest of it again.

A little gas scrub it around and some kitty litter or floor dry and dry sack concrete spread on it will get the color back if it still doesnt suit you after it dries.

I do this for a living. (make messes that is)

Kansas

Biological (enzyme) washing powder will eat it all up. Damp it down, scrub in a pile of powder into a slurry, keep damp for a few days, it'll eat it all.
You'll end up doing the whole drive with the stuff - brings it up like new.
I was changing the oil on my mum's car (hey, it's worth it for a good steak and she's 63!), spilt half a gallon.
Used the bio washing powder, and it came up so clean I had to do the rest of the drive as well, to avoid it looking like a huge clean spot.
Now I change oil over a drain in the road instead. Not scrubbing up a slurry to clean a driveway that size again - and the waterworks can deal with it.

a few more spills will make that one sorta go away.

i do all my oil work in the grass/gravel/whatehaveya.

Biological (enzyme) washing powder will eat it all up. Damp it down, scrub in a pile of powder into a slurry, keep damp for a few days, it'll eat it all.
You'll end up doing the whole drive with the stuff - brings it up like new.
I was changing the oil on my mum's car (hey, it's worth it for a good steak and she's 63!), spilt half a gallon.
Used the bio washing powder, and it came up so clean I had to do the rest of the drive as well, to avoid it looking like a huge clean spot.