Splitter hydraulic tanks and axles

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TreePointer

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm in the market for my first hydraulic splitter, and I have some questions about what I've been seeing.

The Huskee models at TSC have the hydraulic reservoir going the length of the axle. Are there any disadvantages to this configuration as opposed to a side reservoir?

I also noticed that the Huskees don't have a full axle. I'm guesssing that a model with a full axle would be more durable. Is this correct thinking?

Last edited:
I'm no engineer, but working on a farm will teach a guy how to pick out the "weak link" in a lot of designs. A full axle isn't always stronger but usually is...what I should say is that you can make spindles as strong as an axle but it will take much more material.

As to the reservoir, without seeing it (or being an engineer) I'd say maybe it's for balance!?!? That's a long shot. Or to protect it from getting banged up?

A lot of stuff today is not built for best performance, it's built to meet certain criteria (features and price point) and they use parts made for something else...they just stick it wherever it will fit or look the least ugly. Might have stuck if there so they could use a shorter length of hose as well. (Material costs)

I'm not sure I'd get hung up on the strength of the axle. I dont recall reading posts here about broken axle assemblies. I would be more concerned with a fixed axle vs. one with a suspension. You could build the strongest axle known to man and without a suspension you're going to tear something up if you tow it on a road on a regular basis (at least here in illinois).