splitter hydraulics

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
142TN

142TN

ArboristSite Lurker
I need help with hydraulics on a homemade splitter. I have seen on some threads that you can buy one cheaper than make one but I am a welder by trade with all of the steel,wheels,resovoir and I beam. But I do not know alot about the small parts of the hydraulic system. The splitter will have a 5HP moter with a 11 gmp pump and 3 1/2 x 20or 24 cylinder. I need to know what small parts besides that and hoses. any info would be very help thanks clint

Philbert

Philbert

Chainsaw Enthusiast
. AS Supporting Member.
Clint,

Check out the Northern Tool website or catalog:

http://www.northerntool.com/

They got their start selling parts for people making their own log splitters (their original name was Northern Hydraulics) and will probably have a lot of stuff that would be helpful for you, especially if you find some plans or take a close look at some existing models.

Philbert

SWI Don

SWI Don

ArboristSite Guru
I just posted this in another thread but this is the basic circuit you need for a log splitter.

http://www.princehyd.com/Portals/0/products/valves/LS3000InstS.pdf

Another source online is surplus center. They are reasonable on their hoses and fittings. I bought hoses through them for ~$20 ea that would have cost me upwards of $100 ea locally. I used all JIC hoses and adapters to try to minimize the leaks.

Good luck on your project.

Don

Last edited:
142TN

142TN

ArboristSite Lurker
Thanks for the web sites that is what I did is the diagram. The wire strainer is the part that I was lost on. If you do not use the strainer but you use the return filter will that stiil work. I am just asking if it is needed. thanks clint

SWI Don

SWI Don

ArboristSite Guru