STihl 075AV Tillotson Carb Tuning Assistance

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1_badger

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi,
I've been attempting to restore, for the past 2 years, an old 075AV I bought from France via Ebay (I'm based in the UK). I've finally got the saw running but I now need some guidance / advice on tuning the tillotson carb. Having rebuilt the carb I set the H and L screws as outlined in the service manual at 1 and 1.25 turns out. With the choke open the saw starts fine and throttles up okay perhaps idling slightly too high, but as soon as I close off the choke she dies. I'm new to this so I wondered if the idle screw needs adjusting. Whilst the manual mentions the idle screw there's very little information on it other than its set at an optimal setting in the factory and you might have to adjust it if you're working high above sea level. Does anyone know if there's a "standard" setting for the carb idle screw for working near sea level. I'd like to adjust it to tick over steadily once its warmed with the choke closed. Having looked at a number of other threads I've not discounted issues with seals and other problems which I haven't looked into yet, but if anyone knows any basic carb set up guidance particularly with respect to the idle screw I'd be grateful.

Cheers,
Nick Foster

Hi,