Stihl MS 290

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

harryevan

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Okay, one more time today:

I bought a Stihl MS 290 a few years ago for firewood - I used to be a climber but I fell out and now I'm a database manager, go figure - anyway, it cut like the hot knife going through butter for a while and 3 chains saw me through a day's cutting, no problem. I'm still on my first pack of Stihl 2-cycle oil, so it's not like I'm cutting cords every weekend, just a couple times a year.

One day, last year, I couldn't get it started. Took it to the dealer who said the fuel line was cracked (too much alcohol in the gas these days?), so he changed that and rebuilt the carb. "Don't keep fuel in the tank if you're not using it." Okay, sounds good. I do that.

About six months later, it stopped after the first tank. Refueled, more oil, checked the chain - couldn't start it again, so I bagged it for the day and dumped the fuel out. After a few friends tried starting it, I took it back and the guy changed the plug and said it started for them. I got it home and dumped it out as I wasn't using it for a while.

Today, it won't start. New gas mix, nice day. Go through the manual's steps, but it won't even give me a tease. Flooded? I pulled the plug, pulled it through and blew it out like the guy did at the shop, plenty of fuel in the cylinder. Filter's fine. The one in the tank appears new, nice an white, nothing clogging it. Checked the plug for spark - that's fine. Still won't start. Just on intuition, I check the switch leads with a meter. They show continuity in all positions (I thought it would just be in OFF.) I pull the green/yellow wire and I just get continuity in OFF.