Stihl troubles

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AJahns

Reaction score
:bang:

I am in some hot water on this one. I’m am in the middle of a large side job (no I am not a pro, yes I have used chain saws for years) and both of my Stihl saws are acting up. My MS250 will not start. I have swapped out the spark plug with a known good one, made sure the fuel is ok... I even swapped out the coil... Nothing...

My MS440 Mag clutch drum froze tight and giving my fits when I attempt to pull it off.

Any suggestions, other than use a different brand from the anti-Stihl crowd or toughski ????ski from the overly-pesimistic-trying-to-be-funny folks.

Is it possible to test coils (easily)? What the frack happened to my MS440 mag? Do these go bad in this manner?

I think we need more information.

Did the 250 all of the sudden not want to start? Was it running ok when you could get it started?

As far as your 440, Ive never heard of that happening. Will the clutch drum turn by hand? Or is it frozen right to the clutch? Once again, did it happen all of the sudden? Did you let it slip to the point where it melted the clutch shoes to the drum?

It is possible to test a coil if you have an ohm meter and know the values you need to be looking for. I dont know what the limitations on a chainsaw coil are, but there are a few here who do.

Your saws didn't die because they are Stihl. Stihl makes greats saws, some OK saws, and some homeowner junk. The saws you have, are among the best saws ever made.
You only need a few things for a saw to run: spark, fuel and compression.
If a saw won't start, pull out the spark plug. If it's wet, it's either flooded (too much gas), or it's not getting spark. Connect the plug to the wire and put the body of the plug against a grounded metal part of the saw and pull the cord. Is there a good spark jumping across the gap?