thinking of getting a dump trailer???

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gunnar

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to the wood scene....lol Recently had a CB6048 installed and am thinking about getting a dump trailer. Just in the short time getting wood from other properties, i see how my truck is taking a beating and see the benefit of less trips if i had one. And the ease of loading and unloading. I have a chevy 2500 crew cab.

Anything you guys could tell me abou dumps, pros and cons?? I'm sure sometimes it could be hassles getting into tight places with one. What brands, sizes, features? I was thinking a 6x10 or 6x12? Any info would be appreciated.....

What ever you do, don't get a "Texas Pride" trailer. Unless you're willing to spend some money to make it do what it's supposed to from the factory.

If you think your truck's taking a beating now, wait untill you double the load.

Andy

I bought a 7x12 12k last year. I haul some firewood but I mostly haul coal in it ( I have a coal boiler ) and my tractor.
I went with the scissor lift and it works great. I also went with the low profile trailer since I knew I would be hauling my tractor in it. The low profile keeps the center of gravity low and is much easier to load . I also went with the poweder coat to combat rust. It works up to a point.
My trailer recharges the battery while moving which is nice to have.
I went with the spreader tailgate since I haul a boatload of gravel in the summer months.
If I had to do it over i would have bought the 7X14 or 7x16 so I could put a car in the trailer and still close the tailgate.

Last edited: