Total Newb question about sharpening

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bozzchem

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Rather than get a bench grinder or any other powered sharpener, I'd prefer to learn to sharpen by hand. I was given a link to a youtube video on the Vallorbe kit which looked like a nice kit to keep on hand and use for sharpening in the field.

The problem is this kit only seems to be sold overseas from the searches I've done.

I have a Husky 455 Rancher. The extra blade box I have indicates the following: Drive links = 72; Pitch = 3/8"; Gauge = 0.050"; File size = 7/32". I have to assume those are the right specs since it's a Husky replacement chain for my 20" bar. Give me a couple of months and I'll know enough to at least converse without sounding like a babbling idiot.

I'll be the first to admit, I don't know jack $hit. I do have a couple of dremels and can purchase the chainsaw sharpening kits for one but prefer to have something I can sharpen with out in the field. The Vallorbe kit looked like something a Newb could use and still get a decent edge in a relatively short period of time. I do have the 7/32 file given to me by the dealer but figure I'd just make things worse.

If you can provide a link to the Vallorbe kit or it's equivalent that will work with the chain parameters I listed above, I'll be most grateful. I'm still getting the hang of this and hitting the ground with a running chain seems to be a problem I need to get past. In the meantime, I'd rather learn to sharpen a chain than keep putting new ones on and screwing them up.

Much thanks!

You have the file and you have hands, all you need. This has been talked to death here, use the search feature and read on. Practice, practice, practice.