Uneven Chain Sharpening by Dealer w/pics

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iowawoodcutter

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Wanted to ask you experts and dealers about the chain sharpening I had done by a dealer here in the Quad Cities recently. I took in two 20" 33 RSC chains to have sharpened, both were fairly new, I would say I have run the file across them 20 to 25 times (total strokes), so most of the cutterheads were still there. Well first thing I noticed is they ground them down to almost half way!! Then I looked further and they had ground one side more than the other. Now I am not a expert so I was thinking, is this going to cause any negative effects when cutting? I would think my cuts would start to look cresent shaped or curved??? Am I right on this, do I need to go have a talk with the dealer about their sharpening?

Is 7.00$ per chain a resonable price also? Seemed high to me, but I usually sharpen my own, just did not have time this time.

Iowa

To really make a judgement on how he sharpened your chain we'd need a "before" picture. Regardless how many strokes you'd put on the chain before, how dull was it? Did he have to grind it that far back to get a sharp working corner? I've seen brand new chains ground into the dirt real hard where you had to grind off about half the teeth to get them back to really sharp.

Cutter lengths do appear to be off, but that might have been required to get each side sharp. In theory, this might cause a crooked cut, but not so much in my experience. As long as both sides are truly sharp, you should cut okay. Might show up in a really big log, say a 48" bar, but less than that and not likely to be noticeable.