Ways to go Long on a small saw-Jonsered 2041

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Frank Savage

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Some tech info on the beggining (almost the same saw as Husqvarna 40-the new plastic one):

Displacement 2,43 cu. in./40,3 cm3
Bore 1,57“/40 mm
Stroke 1,26“/32 mm
Power 2,0 kW at 9000 rpm
Recommended max. speed, no load 12 500 rpm
Max torque unknown for me, if you know, please refer
recommended bar 13“-18“, chain pitch 325, drive link 0,050-0,058 free to choose, 7t drive sprocket

I have now this little Jonsy as my only saw on hand. Why, it´s a longer story. But certainly, I have some experience in 404 and some 3/8 world cutting hardwoods, both semi- and full-chisel, and a quite a lot of experience with using my elbow grease with blades to 5,5´.
I´ll have to use it this winter even where I would like to normally use sth. like 460/660/Dolmar 7900-felling and cutting firewood in some oak, a bit of elm or larch and mostly black locust so dense that air-dry wood from some snags barely floats. Anything between 4“ and 30-34“ DBH, most 12-20“, most are nasty leaners on a rocky 45-60deg. slope-a lot of 25-30“ on it´s base part as uprooted.
Also, I´ll be probably helping to friend of mine in cleaning some rock climbing corridors this winter/spring, where is impossible to use a big saw.
So I have to solve a „reach vs. power“ problem. The standard 15“/0,058“ bar, 64 link full-comp in 325 on 7t sprocket is ready and obvious, but useless for a lot of the trees, so as the longest recomended 18“ bar.
With some of the trees, there is no „acceptably unsafe“ way to stand and cut on both sides, so I´ll have to cut it from one side all. Also, I´m looking for some bucking comfort for anything dia above that 13,5“ of useful bar lenght.