What brought ya'll here??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Timberhauler

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I've been meaning to do this for a while,but it always slips my mind.I wanted to start a thread for everyone..East coast,west coast,vets,pro's,tinkering people and hobbyists.What got you guys and gals into chainsaws and cutting wood?
I started logging when I was 12 years old.It seemed like everyone around me was either in the logging business of the grading business.I did that through high school,and said I'd never do it again.I worked as a heavy equipment mechanic until I was 23,and decided I'd start taking small jobs and topping trees for some of the loggers and graders to make ends meet.One thing led to another,I met the right people and kept at it,and now the very thing I swore I'd never do again is now not only what I'm making my living at,and I also love it so much,it still seems like a hobby..I have always been fascinated with anything that had an engine.So before I ever even found this site,I had an over abundance of chain saws,and never could stop tinkering..I read the new Stihl and Husky brochures like fine literature,and whenever there is something new out,I have GOT to have it..From my little MS 210,all the Husky's and all the way up to the 088.They were all saws I had to have for some reason or another..A big handfull of them get used day in and day out,the rest are pretty much toys..So what makes some of you tick..Why do you enjoy this so much?:cheers:

My passion of woodworking led me to wanting to try milling my own wood. I started looking at low-end bandmills and the prices were a little discouraging. I came up on chainsaw mills somewhere on the web and have never looked back. I owned one saw (30cc Homie) now I have several good ones. This site has fueled my passion for saws more than anything else.