What Causes this?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PhilMcWoody

Recharging Battery
Reaction score
I've seen a little smoke after some cuts, and I'd say the saw is running kinda hot (though as a newb I don't have a frame of reference).

Seems like an oily substance is leaking over the top of the muffler (see photo-right side of muffler top, and getting burnt, and also dripping down to the case, by the looks of it.

Not sure why this would be? Any suggestions welcome.

(Saw is still new, just a few months old, hasn't cut more than a 1/2 cord of hardwood.)

MufflerOilBlk_160301.jpg

MS 250C

Last edited:
I have a Stihl just like that one and it does the same thing.

I wipe the oil off at the end of the the day and live with it.

There's a bigger mess of wood chips and bar oil to wipe off also.

Did you get it at a big box store or a dealer? Either way did someone set it up and do the initial adjustment on it for you. If they did they probably set it rich for the break in process. 5-10 tanks of fuel or 5-6 hours of runtime. If so once it's broken in you should be able to have it readjusted which would clean it up some and also give it a bit more power.

My 365 Husky did the same thing.

Most of the Stihl 250's have a single needle carb and there is a fixed jet for the high speed.

Do not ruin the piston over trying to prevent a little oil mess around the bottom of the muffler.

There's a much bigger mess around the chain and clutch to keep up with that would serve you better.

Most of the Stihl 250's have a single needle carb and there is a fixed jet for the high speed.

Do not ruin the piston over trying to prevent a little oil mess around the bottom of the muffler.

There's a much bigger mess around the chain and clutch to keep up with that would serve you better.

I don't mind a little oil mess if that's what the deal is. I cleaned it already.