What do companies look for?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Crawlin98xj

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
What do logging companies look for in potential employees? I am 22 and love hard work. I don't smoke or do drugs, only drink on occasion and never when I have work the next day. I am a carpenter now but want to be working in the woods more than anything. I know it's been said a million times before but this is something I want to do. I have wanted it since before all these logging reality shows but its is just now that it is becoming a real possibility for me since we will be moving up north in the near future. Only thing is, I did not graduate high school. It is not something I regret doing because I did it to start working full time at 16. I am a hard worker at heart. I take the bad with the good and keep a positive attitude the whole time.

I look for someone who is willing to learn. I am still learning. You never stop learning in the woods. First you should atleast get you G.E.D. With out that or a diploma; I would not even consider hiring someone. That showes your willing to learn. I know there is alot of men in the woods that don't have that but it is one thing I look for. Other than that I want someone who will show up on time and do their job with out having to be babysat.

Ray

Your ambition, which is key, is a good start and from what you write sounds good. With zero experience, you are going to have to start at the bottom which will mean low wages. Not sure how this will work out for you if you are an experienced carpenter since they can make a good buck.