what to do about this tree

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J.W Younger

ass kissing impaired
Reaction score
I have a large red oak in my yard that was hit by lighting in july of 05.I est. 4 cords of firewood in it.The thing is I have no experience dropping 50 inch trees and this one looks like a good way to get hurt or killed.Its about 60 ft. tall and has a clear drop path in any direction.Its not dead but several limbs have fell off in the past 2 years.Actually the insects are whats gonna do it in.Unless i happen to be driving or mowing under it when it drops a limb its not going to damange anything. Should I just leave it alone?

I have a large red oak in my yard that was hit by lighting in july of 05.I est. 4 cords of firewood in it.The thing is I have no experience dropping 50 inch trees and this one looks like a good way to get hurt or killed.Its about 60 ft. tall and has a clear drop path in any direction.Its not dead but several limbs have fell off in the past 2 years.Actually the insects are whats gonna do it in.Unless i happen to be driving or mowing under it when it drops a limb its not going to damange anything. Should I just leave it alone?

A standing dead tree is a huge liability for anyone near it. Take it down. If you aren't comfortable doing it, have someone who is do it. If they just get it on the ground it shouldn't cost much.

oh, and no sense in leaving 4 cords of good firewood to dry rot and get bug infested either.

Last edited:
Well 2nd thoughts are a healthy attitude to have...trees that big are more dangerous on the ground cause if you don't think it threw they'll roll on you when start limbing 'em.

That being said if it's a clear drop in any direction I'd give it some more thought. Just don't attempt it with anything less than a 20" bar minimum.

Hire someone