What's in your toolbox?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ramzilla

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I was looking through the Stihl special tools catalog and wondered....what special tools do you guys find handy to have while wrenching on saws? I am always up for picking up new tools that will make life easier.

I was looking through the Stihl special tools catalog and wondered....what special tools do you guys find handy to have while wrenching on saws? I am always up for picking up new tools that will make life easier.

T27 torx small flat head tuning screw driver, piston ring tool, vacuum/pressure tester and compression tester. All can be had far cheaper that stihl prices if you shop around a little bit

I am a mechanic at Caterpillar for a living so I have all the basic things like that and "my" stihl prices are dirt cheap so I was wondering if there were any special tools you guys used often?

I am a mechanic at Caterpillar for a living so I have all the basic things like that and "my" stihl prices are dirt cheap so I was wondering if there were any special tools you guys used often?

One of the few stihl tools that are damn nice is a crank seal puller. I haven't had the opportunity to use too many of their tools

IMHO, there are only two that I consider "critical". The flywheel puller can be had on ebay for about $20, and will prevent damage to the flywheel by using alternate methods. The other is the crank seal puller but the cost is high($280) if you can even get a dealer to sell you one. The clutch side seals are not a problem..but the flywheel side is :angry: unless you have the OEM puller, especially on the small saws, like 026.