Why use dogs?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bama

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
Karlstad, MN---Where the earth meets the sky.
I hope I don't get dinged too much here, but I don't use dogs on my saws. My dad taught me to keep the chain sharp and let the saw do the work. Don't the dogs encourage forcing the saw into the wood? What is the advantage with dogs if you cut mostly 10" to 20" logs(remember, I am not a professional). I cut for myself and to sell on the side. Thanks.

i use them all the time.......if your holding the saw sideway's cutting wood that is vertical it alot easier to lever the saw in than just push it. if the wood is already on the ground i could go either way. but i prefer dogs on all my saw's. i just use them with out even thinking about it, i noticed how much i use them when i bought a 371 and said whats up with these crappy little dogs.

have used them for falling and bucking of large wood. dont think the ones on the 041 are big enough. planned to make a set this week before saw jumped naked. now that it is back running we will have to see....

Simonizer said:
Dogs are for falling not bucking.

Exactly. That's more than likely why they call them "falling dogs". Or dawgs if'n yer from south of the mason dixon. Try falling a "big" tree back bar and you'll(or all ya'all) will appreciate dogs.

I always thaught 041 dogs where just right. They don't take up a 1/4 of your bar like some I have seen lately. Never have had a problem getting them to bite.

bark just busts off of old oak, cant get to the wood. probably just technique. i hear you though 20 inch bar with 7 inch dogs. king of weird looking on some...

Dogs are also for bucking. They work very well for that.