Witnessed my first saw injury

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dsquared

Reaction score
First post here!

Anyways, a little back ground I am a ground guy/ climbing apprentice. Only been in the buisness like 4 months .

So my boss, our climber, and I were on our last job to finish up a pretty rough week. It was a simple job really get some dead out, raise a few canopies, and drop 2 dead trees. Just dropping everything and no clean up.

We get everything doesn't except dropping the trees. One leaning way over a power line' and a cement retaining wall, so of course the climber (who was using the bucket) started to working it back to a pole and was lowering it so we could just drop the pole no ropes just notch and drop it.

Well next thing you know you hear the rev of the stihl 201, followed by a loud YARG. Me and my boss look up at the bucket and see the 201 flying toward the ground. The climber is grasping his arm. My boss lowers him down and pulls him out and we get him fully to the ground. His arm was sliced open and you could see muscle and tendons (thankfully blood neither squinting or pouring out). He says the saw kicked back on home between his groans and moans.

Went to the hospital got him stitched and drugged up. Only nicked his mu triceps and a gnarly flesh wound like 5 inches long...

Anyways was kind of a scary moment there for a second , kind of a reminder to stay vigilant out there guys!