Would you trust this man to build you a chain??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flatpikr

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
OK Folks: This new thread is to show off my chain building prowess. I'm actually a total newb to chain building. The first pic is what a factory rivet looks like. The second picture is my first attempt at reducing a new chain by 4 links. Before you freak out at the second pic: 1) I did not have a new preset (3/8 LP); 2) The guy that's been building my chains for years says you can reuse a preset once; 3) I've cut a mess of wood with this chain 4) I now have a new preset and will probably never do this again. I'm going to change it when I resharpen. btw- this is on a little 30cc echo "yard" saw.

attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

yikes.
i know nothing about chains.... except that they are cheap to replace!:)
i would not trust it. (and your cutter looks dinged up a bit)
:cheers:

Last edited:
I am with Volks man. That looks scary, good thing it is on a small saw. That would tear apart on anything bigger.

Make sure you're wearing some heavy pants when you run that thing....I've been walloped on the leg with a flying chain, was glad I wasn't wearing shorts, but wished I was wearing chaps.
Better yet, have it fixed properly...or throw it out.

Well it LOOKS unsafe to me, don't be cheap. Chains are $10.00, we don't want to read about you in the injuries section!

I've seen field repairs on chains on landing saws that looked much worse than that run for months. I'd replace it, but I'd run it if I were on a job and had nothing else.

I've seen field repairs on chains on landing saws that looked much worse than that run for months. I'd replace it, but I'd run it if I were on a job and had nothing else.