• Please be aware that we have recently gotten a wave of users that, when researched, are found to be from Nigeria. They are trying to sell products and asking to be paid through Zelle or Venmo leaving users with no recourse if they don't ship the product. If you suspect this activity please contact admin and we will research their information to verify their location.

ArboristSite.com Sponsors
Peak Industries

Chainsaws for milling

GeorgiaVol

GeorgiaVol

Addicted to ArboristSite
What are some of the basic parameters for what saw would be required for different diameter trees and types of wood? Friend was looking at getting an Alaskan mil and was asking me, but I have no experience with one. Obviously bigger is better, but being realistic, what are some minimum requirements?

Mad Professor

Mad Professor

Addicted to ArboristSite
What are some of the basic parameters for what saw would be required for different diameter trees and types of wood? Friend was looking at getting an Alaskan mil and was asking me, but I have no experience with one. Obviously bigger is better, but being realistic, what are some minimum requirements?
90cc or better is a good place to start, unless all you'll be milling is pecker poles.

SEAM

Addicted to ArboristSite
Cheap old popular saw with good motor, parts availability (spares, sprocket sizes, bars for milling), adjustable carburetor and as close as possible to or over 100 cc for logs 20" and over.
I use three Stihl 076 and a couple 050/051...
Personally, I would never buy a brand new saw for hobby milling.

Big Block

WFO or I don't go

Big Block

WFO or I don't go