Do we REALLY want regulatory control?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treesquirrel

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
OK first, I am not certified. I've thought about it but with my focus being on removals and pruning I have not yet accepted it as a significant business booster.

I am about 70% self taught and to this day have zero incidents worth mentioning.

The point of my thread is do we really want some kind of government regulation of our industry? Notwithstanding OSHA we currently have a lot of freedom in how we perform work and how we use equipment. A high level of regulation could micro manage our work procedures to a point that we would be under a microscope and if there were ever an incident who knows what decisions could be rendered based on a tunnel vision view of "acceptable" practices.

I get as frustrated as anyone else when I bid a 2k job and get underbid by 50% by bubba and his pickup. I do try to price my services competitively based on what this market will bear without going broke. But it seems there are some individuals that feel regulation is a solution to the fly by nights.

Actually, I'm sure there a dozens of certified Arborists that would consider me a FBN even though I work safely, smart, and have all the right equipment. I also won't do a job that I am ill equipped for. I have colleagues in the biz I refer work to that is outside my ability to do safely. We will join forces regularly to get tough jobs done. A fly by night will look at almost any job and say "yup, we can do that fer ya!". and then proceed to destroy property.