Guys, don't get complacent out there!!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I nearly bought the farm Saturday afternoon while out testing out the 390XP. I've debated back and forth whether or not to share this. Hopefully, someone can learn from my mistakes.

First of all, I'm FAR from a professional. What frustrates me most, is that I know how to do this right. I know all the mistakes I made and how to avoid them. Yes, it's rather embarrasing.

Anyway, here's what happened. I was out videoing the 390XP for you guys. I was alone. I decided to drop about a 30" DBH tree. Why not go ahead and video that too? I've dropped trees twice this big, no biggie. Right there's where I started going wrong. Every tree is a biggie. I had no backup saw, no wedges, no helmet............. Get the picture? Complacent and careless. I know! I slapped a nice notch in there, back barred the first side of the back cut, walked around and finished the other side. She sat back on me! I had misread the lean. I took the power head off the 28" Oregon Reduced Weight bar. Not a deal at all had I used wedges like I normally would.