How much is scoring

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

regulate34

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
So I wanted to have a look at the cylinder on my ms460. Just pulled the muffler cover and had a look. Everything looks good but I am no expert.
On the cylinder wall. I can see very faint vertical lines. It don't look like damage. Just evidence of a up and down motion.
Am I being too picky? Maybe paranoid. Saw has about 40-50 tanks on it. Bucking firewood.

Saw runs great. 4 stroke at WOT

I tried to get a pic. But nothing shows up and it's hard to get it to focus

So what I am wondering is this scoring? Or just normal ware and tear.

You will know when it's seriously scored. The piston will look like someone went vertical on it with 24 grit sand paper. Those vertical lines you are seeing is very likely normal (can't confirm 100% without a pic). Just do a Google images search for "scored chainsaw piston" and you will see what I mean. BTW 40-50 tanks isn't much use at all. You probably aren't looking at new rings until ten times that.

I looked at google and on the forum. Looks nothing like what guys are calling "scored". I have to look at a certain angle to see the lines.

I will try again to get a pic. Maybe the wife has better photography skills then I do.

Little scratches like that are caused by TINY debris. Possibly stuff that got in at assembly or stuff that gets through the filter?
Too little to worry about.

Could be machining marks? If they're very faint then that's what I'm thinking.

If you say they look like an up and down motion caused them, then you're probably looking at really small debris in there like old-cat said

Machining marks are horizontal. Slight vertical marks are normal but you may have toasted that piston and you should send it to me for further testing;)

Here's what scoring looks like!
ad7f39745b25182b742704ae80c8a80b.jpg