HVAC Guy Said No Good-Transfer Heat From Wood Stove-

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cambium

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I'm trying to find a way to get heat from my wood stove in living room to other side of house into bedrooms at a faster pace. Instead of installing another stove elsewhere.

I read somewhere here about in-line ducts. As an electrician I always see the HVAC guys on the jobs so I aked him about it.

He said it doesn't work. By the time it gets to the other side, it would have cooled the air and ends up pushing cooler air then the warm air it takes from the wood stove locations.

So basically it's a lose lose situation. You're taking warm air from the warm room and you're pushing cooler air in the rooms you want warm.

My air handler is in basement.

Beginning to think my only options are...

1. Fireplace insert with fan blower.
2. Get a bigger stove that can make it 90 degrees in that location.
3. Install a stove on other side of house.

Sucks. Anyone have expierence with that flex duct with inline fan?

100_6843.jpg

Last edited:
We are supplementing our oil heat with our fireplace in the living room which has a blower on it. To move the heat from the living room we placed a fan on the floor in the bedroom wing blowing cold air in to the living room. Bedroom wing is 90 degrees away from the fireplace. Combining that fan with a ceiling fan in the adjacent dining room we get great heat distribution with temps down in the 0-10 degree area. YMMV (Your mileage may vary.)

Shari

Last edited: