picked up some White Oak Logs

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

burtle

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I built a little 8x8x8 storage shed for my lawn care equipment and other small items. I'm going to have these white oak logs milled into 1/2" boards and use them as siding. I had 3 eastern pine logs milled into 2x4's and 2x6's about 4-5 weeks ago. That's what I built the shed with. It turned out great!

Do you guys suggest using nails or screws for the boards? I'm hoping there's enough here to do the whole shed. I'm still new to all of this and learning as much as I can. We are milling the two smaller logs first. If there's enough to do the shed with those two we will quarter saw the bigger log and I'd love to make a kitchen table out of it when the boards dry of course and give it to my dad for a surprise. There's 3 other logs as well, which aren't pictured. They were only 4' long and about 18" in diameter. I could make some good table legs out of those..along with cutting boards, shelves etc..

It was pouring down rain when we were loading them. That's why they are wet.

I'm just hoping the logs aren't full of worms.

Attachments

• IMG_3617.PNG
    IMG_3617.PNG
    4.3 MB · Views: 38
I built a little 8x8x8 storage shed for my lawn care equipment and other small items. I'm going to have these white oak logs milled into 1/2" boards and use them as siding. I had 3 eastern pine logs milled into 2x4's and 2x6's about 4-5 weeks ago. That's what I built the shed with. It turned out great!